h1

code4lib: 2007-02-28

2007-02-28

I think I couldn’t have designed a more frustrating wireless network if I tried.

As far as I can tell, I have to log out and log back in after every 2MB of data. And why would that be a problem? Well, I use this laptop infrequently. Symantec’s latest virus definition file is about 15MB. And then there are all the Microsoft patches.

OK, maybe a data quota makes sense in some cases. But shouldn’t certain sites be exempt? (And shouldn’t users with ‘elevated access’ also be exempt? It’s not like I’m anonymous on this network.)

The revolution will not be blogged. Not at this rate, anyhow.

3 comments

  1. I don’t think there is a quota– my wireless interface reports I’ve pulled over 15 mb and pushed 2 mb today.


  2. Man, you have all the luck. Even the Georgia Center’s geeks are having the same problem. Maybe I should clone your MAC…


  3. /me shrugs. I should have mentioned I was pushing all of my traffic through a PPTP tunnel, but I can’t imagine that would make a difference.



Leave a Reply

